What are Membership Groups and why should I use them?


Membership groups are a useful way of grouping users together in BC. 


If you are interested in what Membership Groups are and when and why you should use them, I recommend having a look at this blog post first, before trying to follow this tutorial: GroupBC Blog: Membership groups


The purpose of this article is to help you set up membership groups and explain why each step in the process is necessary.



How to set up a membership group in BC

  • Add a new workspace
  • This will become your membership group. It doesn’t matter whether there is a schema or what schema you use.

    • Tip: Use the same workspace as your main project to make it clearer which project your group belongs to.
    • Tip: Give the membership group a project category of “Hidden” – it won’t show up in the My Projects panel and confuse people.


  • Add one more member to it
  • You need to do this, otherwise there is no group of members, just you!


  • Add the membership group to your BC address book
    • Click on the “Faces” icon to go to the members list for the project.
    • Click View/Change | To AddrBook
    Once it’s added to your address book, you’ll be able to use the group as a separate entity. You only need to do this once.


  • Add the membership group to your main workspace
    • Inside the main workspace click Add | Member
    • From the add member page click Add |Membership Groups
    • Pick your membership group from the list in your address book
    • Click Done
    Once the group is added to the workspace, they have access to it.

    Adding the group to the workspace also makes it selectable on the Access Rights table anywhere in the project.



Use a membership group to control access rights on a folder

  1. Go to the access rights table for the workspace or folder.

  2. Find the membership group in the list underneath the access rights table. Click on it and add it to the access rights table using “Add selected users/groups”.

  3. Remove the access rights for the “Members of…” group. Tick “Override” and set the rights to whatever level you want.

  4. Set the access rights for the membership group. Tick “Override” and set the rights to whatever level you want.
    • Note: the membership group doesn’t have to be added as members of the specific folder, just the top level of the workspace.
    • Note: the rights of the membership group MUST be higher than the rights of the “Members of…” group.

  5. Click Update access rights to save the changes.


Things to watch out for

  • If you’re using membership groups to control access rights, you’ll need all users to be in at least one group – otherwise the people who aren’t in a particular group will have no access to the folders where membership groups have access rights set. (This might be what you want).

  • If you are using membership groups to control access rights, be careful of changing rights on folders at other levels – using the “override” button on the “members of…” group will override everyone’s inherited access, even if you set it somewhere higher up for their membership group.

  • In BC5.3 servers and below, users need to be added in to the membership group AND to the main workspace. Otherwise, they won’t have visibility of the main workspace because they are not direct members.

  • It’s not possible to use membership groups to restrict access rights so that they are lower than the rights of the [Members of] group. You can only build on the rights given to that group.